Eyes vs Teeth?

Yesterday I returned from probably my 15th eye doctor visit in the past two years. After having everything from serious retinal detachment in one eye, cataract work in the same eye, and laser work in the other eye, I had somewhat of an awakening.

We only have two eyes. They cannot be replaced with functioning eyes. Unlike teeth. Even I have two teeth that are not my own. They work fine.

So how come my employer for years was willing to share the expense of dental insurance, but would not touch vision? Was it more important that we chew and smile better than to see better?

I cannot complain. Most of my eye work was covered by my medical insurance. But that’s not the issue. Why cover replaceable teeth and not irreplaceable eyes?

 

Leave a Reply

